No Comments

Advancement – Lion Rank

Earning the Lion Rank

To earn the rank of Lion, your Scout will need the Lion Adventure Book. All advancement requirements are listed in the Adventure Book, and are available on our advancement tracking site at Below is an outline of the material covered in the Adventure Book.

Note: Some of these activities are done at home and signed off by the parent in the Adventure Book or on after the boy has completed the task.

Note: There are no performance requirements for completing tasks. Simply participating and doing one’s best in an activity constitutes completion.

Note: Unlike Cub Scouts at all other ages, Lions do not start by working on the Bobcat rank. They will earn the Bobcat Rank when they become Lion Scouts.

Lion Rank Requirements

In order to earn the Lion Rank, the Lion Scout must complete five required “Adventures”. Lions can also work on seven elective Adventures, but completion of these is not required to earn the rank.

  • Complete each of the following Lion required adventures with your den or family:
    1. Lion’s Honor
    2. Fun on the Run
    3. Animal Kingdom
    4. Mountain Lion
    5. King of the Jungle
  • Completion of one or more Lion elective adventure – List of Lion Electives – of your den or family’s choosing is entirely optional and is not required for Lion rank.

As he completes each Adventure, he is awarded a sticker, which is placed in his Adventure Book to mark completion.

The Required Adventures

  • Lion’s Honor

    1. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.
    2. Repeat the Cub Scout motto. Tell what it means.
    3. Show the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means.
    4. Show teamwork and good sportsmanship by playing a game with your den.
    5. Participate in an outing.
  • Fun on the Run

    1. Learn and demonstrate three exercises you can do each day.
    2. Have Lions make a nutritious snack for the den.
    3. Understand the importance of rest.
    4. Participate as a den in Jungle Field Day.
  • Animal Kingdom

    1. Learn the role of someone who provides a service to your community.
    2. Demonstrate you know what to do in an emergency.
    3. Choose two energy saving projects to practice in your home for two weeks.
    4. Participate in a Lion den family service project for others.
  • Mountain Lion

    1. Gather the outdoor items you need to have with you when you go on an outdoor adventure, and understand how they are used. Also understand and commit to practicing the buddy system.
    2. Learn what SAW (Stay, Answer, Whistle) means. Demonstrate what you can do to stay safe if you become separated from the group when you are outdoors.
    3. Demonstrate an understanding of respect for animals and nature when participating in a learning hike.
  • King of the Jungle

    1. Participate in a flag ceremony with your den.
    2. Explain what it means to be a good citizen.
    3. Explain what it means to be a leader.

Individual Adventures are recognized by a sticker awarded to each Lion as they are earned, to be placed in his Lion Adventure Book. After completing the five required Adventures, the Lion is awarded the Lion rank. Rank awards are presented to the Scout during Pack ceremonies to allow all members of the Pack to recognize your Scout’s achievements.

Note to Parents

  1. Your Den Leader will track the advancement items completed during Den and Pack activities.
  2. You should use the Adventure Book or ScoutBook website (preferred) to record each advancement item completed at home. There are places to “Sign Off” on each activity in the handbook.
  3. If recording advancement in the Adventure Book, bring the book to Den meetings to have your family activities recorded by the Den Leader.
You might also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed